The Love Note

You just never know what to expect from tweenagers. My oldest, Matt, who is 11 and in the 6th grade, seems to have more hormonal ups and downs than I do. But even so, that kid surprises me.
Before school started in August, we were at the Round-up (to get his books, etc.) and he was mortified when I teased him that I was going to visit school and put little heart notes in his locker so he would know just how much I loved him. Even so, the night before school, I tacked a post-it note inside of his binder that said, “Have a great day! Love, Mom”. I didn’t expect a response, but I did assume that once he saw the bright yellow note, he would be embarrassed and throw it away.

Yesterday, three weeks later after the note, Matt wanted to show me how he had his binder more organized. He made a point of showing me the side pocket, stating: “And here is where I keep the note that you gave me on the first day of school.”

Thank goodness God blesses me with those little moments so that I can get through these hormonal times!

“But you, O Lord, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.” – Ps. 86: 15
Leave a Reply

