No Unfinished Sculptures

While reading through a chapter in a book, have you ever stumbled on one nugget of truth that will stand out boldly like Mount Rushmore and you can’t get past it until you stop and spend time thinking on it?

That’s what happened to me this week as I read through Chapter 3 of the book “Unglued” and I read Lysa’s TerKeurst’s story about the Unfinished Sculpture that shared the same room with well-known masterpiece of “David” completed by Michelangelo.

The nugget that grabbed my attention was: “He (God) allows the unglued moments to make us aware of the chiseling that needs to be done.”  I am an unfinished sculpture that needs to be chiseled, especially with all the unglued moments that I have had lately!

I thought about “chisel” a little bit more.  Sculptors used a tool called a chisel to sculpt the stone and fashion it into the figure of what they see inside their mind, just as Michelangelo did with the sculpture of David.  The chisel has a cutting edge at the end of the blade, often made of steel, that is used for cutting or reshaping stone. Chiseling is a slow, thought out process and cannot be hurried.  As in the case of Michelangelo, it took him over two years of immersing himself into the job of sculpting David until he felt he was finished.  This sculpture was not a small project; David stands 17 feet tall!

Through reading this chapter, I recognized that if I want God to chisel me, I have to allow him to design me into what HE sees me to be, not what I think I want myself to be. God’s sculpting may not be easy, and it will not be a hurried process.  It may make me uncomfortable and I may question the decisions of where I am being chiseled, but it is the Sculptor alone who can do the job of fashioning me into something wonderful and beautiful!  I rather be God’s workmanship and accomplish those things that He has already prepared in advance for me to do (Ephesians 2:10) instead of constantly struggling to figure it out on my own.

And isn’t that where real freedom will take place?

2 thoughts on “No Unfinished Sculptures

Leave a Reply

